Research Chairs Candace Chabot June 30, 2022

Research Chairs

Research at the RMTL is supported by two complementary University Network of Excellence in Nuclear Engineering (UNENE) Research Chairs in materials science and engineering. A primary objective of both programs is to develop the next generation of scientists and engineers in close collaboration with the Canadian nuclear industry, other academic institutions, and the international nuclear materials community.

Prof. Mark Daymond
Dr. Mark Daymond

Dr. Mark Daymond, Senior UNENE-NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Nuclear Materials

The goals of the program are to understand the materials of the CANDU fuel channel, and in particular impacts of processing choices and their aging mechanisms. The research currently concentrates on the effect of manufacturing variables on the properties, microstructure and texture of pressure tubes, the anisotropic creep of Zr-2.5Nb, the plastic anisotropy of Zr-2.5Nb, Zircaloy-2, the behaviour of hydrides in bulk Zr- 2.5Nb, delayed hydride cracking of Zr-2.5Nb, irradiation induced degradation of X-750 spacers.

Dr. Suraj Persaud, UNENE Research Chair in Corrosion Control and Materials Performance

The objective of the program is to advance the understanding of metallic corrosion in nuclear-relevant environments, with emphasis on CANDU reactor designs. Research applies innovative microscopy methods, electrochemical methods, and high temperature corrosion testing to understand degradation of Ni-based and Fe-based alloys. Generally, phenomena of interest include: passivity breakdown, dealloying, stress corrosion cracking (SCC), high temperature oxidation, and irradiation effects on corrosion.

Persaud_web 2019
Dr. Suraj Persaud

Programs are supported by Ontario Power Generation, Bruce Power, CANDU Owners Group, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (CNL), and/or the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).